Kemptville slowly opened his eyes, yawning deeply and smacking his lips together. “Good morning,” he yawned again as his sight cleared with the light of day. “It’s a beautiful day, and the clocks have gone back…”

Suddenly, he gasped in surprise. “The clocks went back?” he repeated, and his eyes darted across to his bedside clock. “The clocks went back…?” Then he realized what today was, and it gave him a nasty shock. “The clocks went back!” he wailed, and he collapsed into a sobbing heap beneath the covers out of confusion.

At that moment, Kemptville’s son, Kentville, came rushing into the room and saw his father crying. “Aw, Dad, whatever’s the matter?” he asked sweetly, climbing onto the bed and sitting down beside Kemptville, who shook his head wildly as he tried to get a grasp of the situation. “Did… Did I oversleep? Am… am I late for something? Oh goodness gracious me!” He wailed at his clock, and at Kentville, shaking him by his shoulders. “What time is it? Please, oh please! What time is it?!” He buried his face into Kentville’s shirt, sobbing uncontrollably. Kentville stroked his father’s back, calming him down a little. “It’s nine o’clock, Dad. You didn’t sleep late. The clocks went back last night, so that’s why you’re confused. Here. Let me fix your clock.”

“Oh, woe is me…” Kemptville moaned miserably as Kentville got down from his bed and went over to the bedside table. He picked up Kemptville’s clock, being careful not to overstretch the cable, and pressed a button on the back to adjust the time. He pressed the downwards arrow button on the front, turning the clock back an hour, and pressed the confirmation button to set it.

“There you go.” Kentville smiled as he lay the clock back down on the table, and Kemptville’s sobbing reduced to soft sniffling. “Dear, oh dear…” he groaned, “oh gracious. Did-did you fix it, Kentville?” “Indeed I did, Dad. Here, come look.” Kemptville turned around and looked at the time on the clock, which was now correct to fit the time turning back. “Oh, thanks so much, dearie Kentville,” he gushed to his son, embracing him warmly and stroking his hair. “Heh heh,” Kentville laughed softly. “Well, you won’t need to change it again until next March. But it’s correct for now.”

Kemptville smiled too. “Dear goodness, what was I all tearing up about in the first place? Oh, I’m just a frail, forgetful old man, so I guess I completely forgot about it until now.”

Kentville laughed again. “Dad, you do know this happens twice a year? I’d better put up a calendar on your wall so you’ll remember to change the clock when the time rolls around.”

“Oh yes, that’s right. I forgot,” Kemptville nodded. “Oh, there I go forgetting things again! Oh, silly me.”

“That’s my Dad,” Kentville beamed brightly, and he clambered into bed with his beloved father, embracing him and laughing the whole predicament off with each other.

