lnm07version4

A few posts ago, I exhibited a couple of pages from the Day Stories book, mentioning that although I created the Months and Days at about the same time, I focused more on the Days for a short while the Months were held on the sidelines. However, as 2006 drew to a close and 2007 was heralded in, I began to focus more and more on the Months instead, and they eventually took over the Days completely. This would be the way for a good two years.

So here’s the first artwork of 2007 (I think?), starring the new Month Boys! Although you may notice the title of the artwork isn’t in English – instead, it’s in Spanish (the reason being that I was still living in Colombia at this time). The title literally means ‘The Month Boys/Children’ in Spanish, which I thought would fit in with my Colombian audience more (if it was in English, it wouldn’t sound quite right to their ears).

In case you don’t know which character represents each month, here are their names from left to right on each row:

First row

  • January
  • February
  • March

Second row

  • April
  • May
  • June

Third row

  • July
  • August
  • September

Fourth row

  • October
  • November
  • December

Just a word of warning: I spent a good two years on the Month Boys, so much of the creative work from this year and the next will feature them heavily. So expect lots of Month Boy works for the next few months or so!

