Today is St. Andrew’s Day. St. Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland, and his white cross appears against the blue background on Scotland’s flag. Despite being Scotland’s patron saint, he never actually went to Scotland in his life; his association with Scotland came much later in AD 832.

scotlandflag

Today, however, every 30th of November, Scottish people celebrate this day by showing their pride of being Scottish, wearing kilts, eating haggis and drinking whisky.

Even though I’m not Scottish myself (I’m English), for the past year or so I’ve been fascinated with Scotland and its culture (especially their accent). This came out from my love of Nova Scotia in Canada, whose name means “New Scotland” in Latin and has the highest Scottish diaspora outside Scotland, so no wonder I love them both!

So to celebrate Scotland’s birthday (at least that’s what I always thought it was), I decided to exhibit this specially-tailored gallery for the occasion, filled with drawings of my Scottish characters! (Nova Scotia sadly doesn’t count as it’s in Canada, not Scotland).

To Scottish people in Scotland and all over the world (and those who wish they were Scottish, like me), Happy St. Andrew’s Day!

scottishpeoplecheeringwavingflag

