slcnyparty

As I promised last week on my completion of It’s Christmas in the City of Canada, I’ve drawn this specially-timed fan-artwork of Canada from Hetalia: Axis Powers and his province and territory kids from the IAmMatthewian Project celebrating the New Year with a house party. (See the Canadian Boys fifth anniversary post for more background on Hetalia and the IAMP.)

While Canada gets on with baking more nibbles to keep the party going past midnight and keep everybody up, the provinces and territories are busy having a celebratory conga across the vast family room, while footage of the fireworks across Canada and the world plays over on the widescreen LCD TV Canada bought for Christmas. Naturally, some members of the Canadian household are more inclined to dancing than others – Nova Scotia especially, due to his musical background and expertise (haven’t you seen him play the fiddle?) That iPod playing music on the dock is actually one of his Christmas presents, signed with NS (his postal abbreviation).

nsfiddle
Nova Scotia plays the fiddle

Originally I was going to have all the provinces and territories in the conga line, but the size limitations of A4 sketchbook paper meant that I had to end the conga with Newfoundland, with Prince Edward Island and the territories merely watching the other provinces conga, cheering them on. Even Labrador, Newfoundland’s pet dog, is joining in the cheer, wagging his tail excitedly at the conga dancers.

I usually don’t draw artworks that are set in actual landscapes or rooms, so colouring in the wall and floor was hard work for me. My hands were even aching and slightly chafed from rubbing up against the wood of the pencils for so long! The floor and walls in the kitchen were a little easier as it was only a small space, but it was still tricky colouring in the floor like a checkerboard – I needed to know which tiles were black and which were white. Despite the difficulties, however, this was still a fun piece of art to draw from idea to finished work. I can easily consider this one of my best artworks of this year – not a shabby title for my final artwork of 2015.

May you all have a great New Year’s Eve, and see you in 2016… which is tomorrow! 😉

