Our flight home to London from Halifax had been delayed… by a whole day! We would now be setting off at 9pm the next night rather than 11pm that day as originally expected. This would mean that we had to stay overnight at the airport, because we’d now checked out of our hotel in the city and so couldn’t return for the night. I had to sleep on both the floor and the seats, and it was very uncomfortable having my head pressed against a hard surface rather than a fluffy pillow and having only a jacket as a blanket.

Once I’d managed to wake myself up with the help of Tim Horton’s, there wasn’t much exploring left to do as we were already on our way home from Halifax. While I mostly just connected with family and friends back home and browsed the Web on my computer and tablet (as well as writing for this blog), I did have a break to eat at a pub, where I had a cheeseburger with chips and another ice cream sandwich, and revisiting the lobsters at the seafood store just around the corner from the lounge.

freshlycookednssouthshorelobsterssmokedsalmon
Freshly-cooked Nova Scotia South Shore lobsters with smoked salmon
freshlycookednssouthshorelobsters
Freshly-cooked Nova Scotia South Shore lobsters

I then noticed another lobster sculpture like the one in the lounge, except this one was made out of glittery mosaic tiles rather than decorated with the Nova Scotia tartan. Maybe they’re part of a series and people have to follow a trail to find each one?

glittermosaiclobstersculpture
Glitter mosaic lobster sculpture

I also had a good look at the real lobsters in the shop tank, and I even put one out to see it close-up. Even though its claws were tied together with elastic bands, I still felt a little afraid of the spikes on its legs as they might give me nasty scratches. It was fun seeing the lobster make its way back into the tank and splashing inside, flipped over onto its back. (This sort of reminds me of the lobster hatchery scene in my novel Once Upon A Time In Canada, where Pictou is being shown a pregnant female lobster with eggs and she is carefully placed back down into the pool.)

lobstersintank
Lobsters in a tank
lobstersunderwater
Lobsters underwater

Of course, eventually the time rolled back around, and I had to leave my love Canada back for home shores in England. I tried not to cry again as the bright night lights of Halifax and the environs whizzed past me outside my window onboard the plane.

goodbyehalifax
Goodbye Halifax, see you some other day!

Once I finally landed back home, I was so sleepy but happy that I was back in familiar territory. (Of course, I was also still sad I couldn’t see Canada again for some time afterwards.) I fell asleep on the train home until I was tugged awake to get on the bus near my house… and that’s where I am now, home.

In retrospective, I’ve found that even if I only saw Canada once, it would complete my dream of simply seeing it. Now my next wish is to visit it again in the summer, and possibly eventually live there where I will always be around Canadians.

Thank you, Canada, for having me experience you for the first time in my life, and for seeing what you’re really all about!

whatcanadaisreallyallabout

