slccast

It’s the whole gang from the IAmMatthewian Project/Project Canada! OK, so I know I’ve drawn them all so many times before, but this time I actually have fixed designs for each one of the provinces and territories, unlike previous attempts where I would keep changing one or more of their attributes each time, causing a lot of inconsistency. I’ll go through each province/territory individually so you can get a deeper insight into what I’ve changed for good.

Victoria Cheung (British Columbia):

I’ve changed her hairstyle from the twin ponytails with purple bobbles I used to draw her with to just one large ponytail with a purple bow. I now also draw that weird light blue cloth she wears as a ‘skort’ as in her original design by Sherry Lai instead of just a normal skirt with a slash. And of course, she couldn’t wear rollerblades and carry an umbrella around all the time, so that’s why I gave her a pair of beige laced boots, like Dr. Marten’s.

slcbcheightchartrefslcbcnewrefcutebcslc

Ralph Campbell (Alberta):

I changed the colour of his Stetson hat from light brown (as I used to colour it) to white, matching Sherry’s original design. I still leave off the chaperones though. And he can’t drink Molson Canadian or flaunt his oil-funded wealth in front of the kids either.

slcalbertaheightchartrefslcalbertanewrefcutealbertaslc

Owen Williams (Saskatchewan):

I now just draw simple criss-cross lines in green and brown to create the tartan on his shirt rather than a confusing mix of colours as I used to colour it. The lemon-yellow shirt tied around his waist was added by me (it’s not on Sherry’s original artwork of him). And he can’t carry a bale of wheat all the time.

slcsaskheightchartrefslcsasknewrefcutesaskslc

Ilan Riel (Manitoba):

Originally I coloured his hat a light beige instead of the correct red (as per Sherry’s original artwork of him), and he even went through a brief phase in which his hair was blond instead of red (referring to how I recreated him on The Sims 3, where I accidentally set his hair to blond, and it stuck for some time.) Now I colour in both his hair and hat the correct colours.

slcmanitobaheightchartrefslcmanitobanewrefcutemanitobaslcthesims3manitobaeatlettuce

Oliver Stanley (Ontario):

I used to draw his glasses over his eyes, but now I draw his eyes first and his glasses second for a more natural look. I briefly used to draw him with a red tie (as he does in Sherry’s original artwork for him), but I now leave it off. I’ve also drastically simplified the colour scheme of his Toronto Maple Leafs hockey jersey and draw two flaps behind his trousers to represent his shirt hanging out the back.

slcontarioheightchartrefslcontarionewrefslcontariocuteontarioslc

thesims3ontarioleavehousenight

Jean Tremblay (Quebec):

In Sherry’s original designs, his hair was a sort of silvery-pink, so my drawings obviously matched this. However, she’s now changed it to brown, and I now draw a sort of hook on his head. I’ve also removed the Quebecois flag from his jacket vest, and he can’t smoke or gorge on poutine in front of the kids either.

slcquebecheightchartrefslcquebecnewrefcutequebecslc

Marie McCain (New Brunswick):

In my earliest drawings of her I drew a builder’s belt around her waist (as in her original design), but I’ve now replaced it with a navy-blue sash. She went through a brief phase in which she wore black-and-white striped tights beneath her dress (a la Alice from Alice In Wonderland), but those have gone too.

slcnewbrunswickheightchartrefslcnewbrunswicknewrefcutenewbrunswickslcthesims3newbrunswickfeedfish

Joel Alexander MacKenzie (Nova Scotia):

I originally drew him with a sporran (as per Sherry’s original design), then I left it off and now include it again, albeit with a simple black tied lace behind his kilt (he wears it on the side). He also had a massive makeover for a short time, wearing a navy-blue tartan gown and shorts, but I’ve since gone back to the original design. I’ve made a careful effort to draw his freckles on, as I always seemed to be forgetting them (they are pretty small), and recoloured his hair from red (like Manitoba’s) to ginger (the correct colour). One of my biggest misconceptions is that the red thing beneath his waist-jacket is a tie (it’s actually a lobster), an error I still make today. He seems to have left off the excessive fiddling and drinking Alexander Keith’s beer too.

slcnovascotiaheightchartrefslcnovascotianewrefcutenovascotiaslcthesims3novascotiafoottap

Benjamin O’Reilly (Newfoundland) & Labrador:

Now these have gone through some huge changes over the past few years. In the IAmMatthewian Project, Newfoundland got shrunken down to a baby after the Great Depression hit his economy hard. Labrador would also nearly always be drawn with him, at least in Sherry’s eyes. In Project Canada, Newfoundland has now grown back into an adult for easier storytelling, and Labrador does not seem to be attached to him as much as he did in the IAMP. As such, I now draw only adult Newfoundland without baby Newfoundland, but still with Labrador as they come together to make Newfoundland & Labrador. I now also don’t draw Labrador with a scarf as he used to do – why would a dog need a scarf anyway, when they’ve got fur?

slcnfldheightchartrefslcnfldnewrefcutenfldslc

Anne Montgomery (Prince Edward Island):

In my earlier drawings of her, I coloured in her pinafore dress a dark green instead of the correct turquoise/teal with white stripes (a la Anne of Green Gables, whom she is modelled on), which I now colour it with. The weird dark red I used to colour her hair with has now been changed to the correct ginger, but her braids are a lot less pronounced. Her apron has shrunken a lot at the waist too. (The black bowtie was added by me and is not on her original design.)

slcpeiheightchartrefslcpeinewrefslcpeicutepeislc

Kate Sahneuti (Yukon Territory):

Originally I coloured her jean shorts a light beige, adding an orange ribbon at the back, and her undershirt a much more darker green. I’ve now changed her jean shorts to the correct navy blue (though still keeping the orange ribbon) and colour in her undershirt a lighter green for easier colouring.

slcyukonheightchartrefslcyukonnewrefcuteyukonslc

Cymbeline Thanadelthur (Northwest Territories):

In the IAMP, she never had a real name as the producers never got around to it. In Project Canada, her real name is Cymbeline Thanadelthur (as seen above), as chosen by the new producers. I’ve greatly simplified the colour scheme for her outfit, using much more brighter blues than before. I’ve also changed the little light blue beads she used to wear into bows, like with British Columbia’s bobbles to bow.

slcnwtheightchartrefslcnwtnewrefslcnwtcutenwtslc

Nanook Puqiqnak (Nunavut):

Like with Northwest Territories, I’ve also greatly simplified the colour scheme for her outfit, using much brighter yellows to match her always-cheerful disposition. Her braids have now been changed to ponytails (sort of like the old British Columbia), but she still keeps the little orange bows.

slcnunavutheightchartrefslcnunavutnewrefslcnunavutcutenunavutslc

So those are all the permanent changes I’ve made to the IAMP/PC province and territory gang. You’ll be seeing them all like the picture at the very top from now on!

