Last month, I took a bit of a part in the Inktober challenge. Inktober is an art challenge where the whole month of October is spent by artists drawing up pictures in black-and-white using only ink pens – this is meant to help develop their skills in the art of ink sketching and drawing with only one colour (namely black or any other colour their inking tools use). Inktober was started by the Utah-based illustrator and 3D animator Jake Parker in 2009 as a method of improving his drawing skills. (Looking on the ‘About’ page of his website, I can see he’s worked on the likes of Horton Hears a Who! (2008), Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (2009), Rio (2011) and Epic (2013). Great to see an established professional in the industry started it all!)

inkedoctobertypographywithautumnleaf inkedoctobertypography

Inktober has managed to gain a huge following amongst the Internet artist community in a mere seven years after it was first begun, mostly on Tumblr and DeviantArt. Though it’s been going on for that long, I only began joining in with it last year (2015), as up until that point I’d never drawn something in simple black-and-white with ink before. But now that I’ve joined the Inktober movement in full swing, I’ve started drawing out a little mass of ink doodles to contribute to the initiative.

So without further ado… here are all the Inktober doodles I’ve drawn this year! (Coloured-in versions are right below the ink versions.)

I have a little more Inktober doodles from last year, but I’ll get to them when it’s their time to be exhibited.

