tssjellybabies

If you’ve been following my blog ever since I first set it up in July 2015, you may remember that part of my life story where I talked about me personifying every city and town around the United States of America, which of course came to life as the American Boys series. (It’s always kept up on my blog as a sticky post, serving as my personal introduction to me and my artworks, so it’s very likely you’ll have seen it first thing when coming to visit my blog!)

There, I also briefly mentioned my mission to personify each and ever one of the 50 states too. I decided to make these new (at the time) state characters into their own series, but under the American Boys brand, thus making it a spin-off. I called it The States Show.

tssjellybabies
The States Show Jelly Babies

As mentioned before, The States Show took the act of personifying American places a step further by personifying each state as well as cities, towns and villages. I first decided to draw them all as jelly babies to help me better visualize them as characters (I would later go on to draw them as actual people, which I’ll get to in a later exhibition).

So without further ado… here’s all the State Boys shown! (Although one of them is not technically a state, rather a territory…)

First row:

  • District of Columbia (D.C.)
  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Alaska

Second row:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Florida

Third row:

  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Arkansas
  • Kentucky

Fourth row:

  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana

Fifth row:

  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • New York (State)
  • New Jersey
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island

Sixth row:

  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia

Seventh row:

  • Vermont
  • Washington (State)
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • Puerto Rico (technically not a state, but rather a territory)

(Character profiles for the State Boys will soon be up on my blog.)

This is not the original version of the State Boys poster, however; I did draw an original without Puerto Rico, but it was sadly lost in the incident which I described in the last exhibition. Puerto Rico was added to this recreated version as he was then a new character created for the second States Show movie, All the Magic of Puerto Rico. (There will be more on that in another future exhibition.)

There is also a version of this poster drawn by my sister Melissa, though in landscape rather than portrait and without the soft-play apparatuses surrounding him. (She still sometimes draws for me today.)

statesshowjellies
The States Show Jelly Babies (Melissa’s Version)

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

