seavansky
Seattle and Vancouver in the Sky

The story that started it all.

After my chance encounter with Canada via a certain film, I grew increasingly attracted to it, until one day it would take over my previous romance with America completely. At this point, however, I was still working on the American Boys series, as I’d planned the (then) new Canadian Boys series to commence that coming January.

From that tiny seed, a tree of an idea began to sprout and grow. The first leaf grew with the creation of a new character for the new series by the name of Vancouver Burnaby. I chose Vancouver as the starting point because it is the closest major city directly across the border from Seattle, which was then my most favorite place not just in America, but the world. (My favorite places change all the time! 😁)

I had this preconception that Seattle and the newly-created Vancouver would have a rivalry, so this formed the backbone of an idea for a short story, appropriately named Seattle vs. Vancouver. Conceived during a work placement at a film studio in north London, this provided me with the perfect opportunity to begin honing my scriptwriting skills; today, the original script, as well as other production items such as paper puppets, are still with me even seven years later! (A digitized version of the script can be viewed on my personal Google Drive.)

A rundown of the story:

  1. Seattle bumps into Vancouver at the park, wondering why he’s here in the city of America.
  2. Vancouver introduces himself to Seattle.
  3. Seattle and Vancouver have a bit of a banter about their similarities and differences.
  4. Seattle infuriates Vancouver by calling him “lazy”, who retaliates by calling Seattle “stupid”.
  5. Seattle and Vancouver trade insults about both their countries, with Vancouver mentioning the Canadian hockey team defeating the Americans in the then-recent Winter Olympics (which, incidentally, happened to be in Vancouver).
  6. Seattle puts this down to Canada being in perpetual winter, while Vancouver reminds him that he’s the Rainy City. Seattle says he’s not THAT rainy, and Vancouver remembers he’s just as rainy, giving his scalp a good, relieving scratch.
  7. Seattle remarks that this seems all “America-and-Canada” to him, piquing Vancouver’s burning desire to fight and see who’s the better of the two of them.

SPOILER:

Seattle wins, and Vancouver ends up in a sticky, caffeine-fueled puddle. The explanation? Seattle is Coffee Central USA. So brown coffee would ruin perfectly clear blue rain.


Not that Vancouver’s crying about it; he accepts that sometimes we win and sometimes we lose. And he just so happened to be on the losing side.

The original drawings used in production, like the script, are also still with me, luckily so I can make this mini-gallery, or a storyboard if you will.

After this, I permanently gave up on America for new shores, choosing Canada as my lifelong passion instead… and seven years down the line, we’re still going strong. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’—πŸ’πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

As a bonus, here’s a drawing my sister did of Vancouver showing his Canadian pride some months later. Even she seemed to be getting into Canada, too!

vancouverwavecanadianflag
Vancouver Waves the Canadian Flag

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

