lnm11

Just when you’d thought they’d gone for good, they make a surprise return…

Yep, for some reason, I decided that one of my longest-running series needed a creative comeback. Since I hadn’t yet fleshed out the Canadian Boys series at this point, I regularly swung between them and some of my older series, since they were more established.

For this incarnation of the Months, I invoked the feel of my own imaginative nostalgia and brought back the classic designs – the first ever ones I drew circa 2005 or 2006 – to draw in what was then the ‘new’ art style. (I had actually been using this style for the past three or so years previously, and I’ve since taken on another new style.)

Rather than just copy the early designs exactly, I added some extra details and elaborated more on their personalities and traits. Instead of being as white as a sheet (of paper), they are actually white as in the skin colour. I also gave a little bit of a twist of November: instead of being biologically female, this incarnation is male in a ‘feminine’ outfit. Since I wanted to bring the series more in-line with modern times, and prompted by the creation of North Bay in Canadian Boys, I transferred this onto November. The two characters do dress very similarly, even having an almost-identical hairstyle.

northbaysketch
North Bay Sketch

Also, December seems to have gotten over his bathroom blunders, indicating that he may have had some kind of medical remediation in the years between. So no more mentioning of that then.

These are the last known incarnations of the Months in more recent years, since the rest of that time has been spent building up on the world of Canadian Boys – which, of course, still continues with new characters being added and new places being established. However, I’ve been considering bringing the Months back, though of course with brand-new designs and personas which are more in-line with their seasonal features. This was inspired by seeing a few interpretations of the months by others on DeviantArt:

monthscoceptrevisited

monthadoptables

monthoutfits1

monthoutfits2

monthoutfits3

monthoutfits4

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

